Central Bank of Nigeria

Quick Links

Social Media

Currency Management

Currency | History of Nigerian Currency | Legal Tender | Currency Gallery | Security Features | Features of Nigerian Currency | Clean Notes Policy | eNaira

History of Nigerian Currency

The West African Currency Board was responsible for issuing currency notes in Nigeria from 1912 to 1959. Prior to the establishment of the West African Currency Board, Nigeria had used various forms of money including cowries and manilas.

On 1st July, 1959 the Central Bank of Nigeria issued the Nigerian currency notes and coins and the West African Currency Board notes and coins were withdrawn. It was not until 1st July, 1962 that legal tender status were changed to reflect the country’s new status. The notes were again changed in 1968 as a war strategy following the misuse of the country’s currency notes.

On 31st March, 1971, the then Head of State, General Yakubu Gowon announced that Nigeria would change to decimal currency as from 1st January, 1973.The major currency unit would be called Naira which would be equivalent to ten shillings: the minor unit would be called kobo; 100 of which would make one Naira. The decision to change to decimal currency followed the recommendations of the Decimal Currency Committee set up in 1962 which submitted its report in 1964.

The change that took place in January, 1973 was a major one and this involved both currency notes and coins. The major unit of currency which used to be £1 (one pound) no longer exists and the one Naira which is equivalent to 10/- (Ten shillings) has become the major unit:

On 11th February, 1977 a new bank-note denomination of the value of N20 (Twenty Naira) was issued. This is special in two respects:

  1. The N20 (Twenty Naira) bank-note was the highest denomination to be introduced so far, and its issue became necessary as a result of the growth of incomes in the country; the preference for cash transactions and the need for convenience.
  2. The N20 (Twenty Naira) bank-note is the first currency note in Nigeria bearing the portrait of a Nigerian citizen, in this case, the late Head of State, General Murtala Ramat Muhammed (1938-1976) who was the torch bearer of the Nigerian Revolution of July, 1975.

He was declared a national hero on the 1st of October,1978. The note was issued on the 1st Anniversary of his assassination as a befitting tribute to a most illustrious son of Nigeria. On 2nd of July, 1979, new currency notes of three denominations, namely, N1, N5, and N10 were introduced. These notes are of the same size i.e., 151 x 78 mm as the N20 note issued on the 13th February, 1977. In order to facilitate identification, distinctive colors which are similar to those of the current bank-notes of the various denominations have been used. The notes bear the portraits of three eminent Nigerians who were declared national heroes on the 1st of October, 1978. The engravings at the back of the notes reflect cultural aspects of the country. In 1992, both the 50k and N1 Notes were coined. In response to expansion in economic activities and to facilitate an efficient payments system, the N100, N200, N500 and N1,000 bank-notes were introduced in December 1999, November 2000, April 2001 and October, 2005 respectively.


Currency in Circulation (₦ m)

N 3,965,101 - in 5/31/2024
N 3,922,947 - in 4/30/2024
N 3,869,330 - in 3/28/2024
N 3,693,573 - in 2/29/2024
N 3,650,500 - in 1/31/2024
N 3,653,259 - in 12/30/2023
N 3,347,716 - in 11/30/2023
N 2,997,756 - in 10/31/2023
N 2,761,291 - in 9/30/2023
N 2,660,138 - in 8/31/2023
N 2,595,761 - in 7/31/2023
N 2,603,266 - in 6/30/2023

The above figures the last 12 captured months figures and are in millions of Naira.

Look up other Dates

Related Links
Legal Tender
Currency Gallery

Contact Us

Phone: +234 700 225 5226

Toll free line: +234 800 225 5226

People abusing the Naira:
Toll Free Line: 08000200200

Email: [email protected]

Complaints Against Financial Institutions:
[email protected]

Ethics & Anti-Corruption Helpline:
+234 8 0000 151515 [email protected] [email protected]

Letter to be Addressed to: The Ethics, Anti-Corruption and Governance Office, Via the Director, Governor's Department, Central Bank of Nigeria, Head Office, Central Business District, Plot 33, Tafawa Balewa Way, P.M.B 0187, Abuja.

Whistleblowing Petition:
+234 8 0000 203040 [email protected]

Letter to be Addressed to: The Director, Internal Audit Department, Central Bank of Nigeria, Head Office, Central Business District, Plot 33, Tafawa Balewa Way, P.M.B 0187, Abuja.


Central Bank of Nigeria
Plot 33,
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Way
Central Business District,
Cadastral Zone,
Federal Capital Territory,
P.M.B. 0187,
Garki Abuja.

We are open for business Monday through Friday except on national holidays. Official visiting days are Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment only. Our working hours are from 8:00a.m. - 4:00p.m.

Legal Disclaimer
Privacy Notice