Home | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap | Educational | Freedom of Information    

Nigeria Financial Services Shared IT Infrastructure & IT Standards Programme

Home | Background | Objectives and Purpose of Document | Definition of Standard | Abbreviations | Contact Us

Overview and Summary of IT Standards for the Nigerian Financial Services Industry

IT standards for Nigeria’s Financial Services Industry is focused on 7 key technology capabilities areas which are required for world class IT operations as follows:

Strategic IT Alignment Translation of business vision and strategies into multi-year IT investments and operating plans as well as impacts of Information Technology on the Enterprise’s performance measurement.
IT Governance Framework for initiation, endorsement, sponsorship, approval and evaluation of IT decisions.
Architecture & Information Management Guidance for the creation and execution of the strategic IT architecture framework.
Solutions Delivery Framework for the development of software application solutions and their subsequent transition into the production environment.
Service Management & Operations Planning, delivery and measurement of day-to-day operational service.
Information & Technology Security Security and protection of enterprise information and related assets.
Workforce & Resource Management Management of IT skills, knowledge and financial resources.


The Financial Services Industry IT standards are derived from globally defined and accepted standards as follows:


Strategic IT Alignment

IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL)

Control Objectives for Information and related Technologies (COBIT)

IT Governance


ISO 38500

Architecture & Information Management


ISO 8583

ISO 20022


eXtensible Business Reporting Language (XBRL)

Enterprise Architecture

The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF)

Solutions Delivery

Applications Development

Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)

ISO 15504

Project Management

Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK)

PRojects IN Controlled Environments version 2 (PRINCE2)

Service Management & Operations

Service Management


ISO 20000

Data Center

Tier Standards

TIA 942

Health, Safety, Environment (HSE)

OHSAS 18001

Business Continuity

Business Continuity Institute Good Practice Guidelines (BCI GPG)

BS25999 / ISO 22301

Information & Technology Security

Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS)

ISO 27001/27002

Workforce & Resource Management

Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA)


Useful links

  1. Overview and Summary IT Standards for the Nigerian Financial Services Industry
  2. Target Maturity Levels
  3. Expected Impacts and Benefits
  4. Re-prioritised Industry IT standards
  5. IT Standards Adoption Roadmap
  6. IT Standards Governance and Interaction Model
  7. CBN IT Standards Council ToR
  8. IT Standards Blueprint for Deposit Money Banks (DMBs)
  9. IT_Standards_Blueprint for Payment Solution Providers (PSPs) and the National Microfinance Banks (NMFBs)

See Frequently Asked Questions on the IT Standards Blueprint

Facts : 1/1/1900
Operation Feed the Nation (O.F.N.):Operation Feed the Nation was introduced by the federal military government headed by General Olusegun Obasanjo in 1979.It had the specific focus of increasing food production on the premise that availability of cheap food would ensure a higher nutrition level and invariably lead to national growth and development.OFN lasted till the civilian government of Alhaji Shehu Shagari in 1979.
See All: Facts | Events