Home | About Us | FAQs | RSS | Contact Us | Sitemap | Careers | Educational | Freedom of Information    

Featured Articles

Emefiele Leads CBN Family to Sweep CIBN Honours Awards

CBN Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele at the event


Few weeks after he was conferred with the National Honours Award of Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) by President Goodluck Jonathan, the Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr. Godwin Emefiele bagged the prestigious Honorary Fellowship of the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN) in Lagos on Saturday, October 18, 2014.


Speaking at the investiture ceremony held at the impressive Federal Palace Hotel, the President and Chairman of Council of the Institute, Otunba (Mrs.) ‘Debola Osibogun, noted that the recipients were being honoured in recognition of their immense contributions to the development of the banking industry and the Nigerian economy in general. 


She charged the awardees to note that their elevation to the status of Fellows and Senior Members of the Institute imposes on them the additional responsibilities to further contribute to the overall development of the banking and finance industry.

In his remarks, the CBN Governor, Emefiele, thanked the Institute for finding him and the other honorees worthy of the awards.  “This award serves to bolster my determination at the Central Bank to ensure that the banking system in Nigeria is not only sound, but also driven by high standards of corporate governance and professional ethics,” he added.


Also honoured at the impressive event was the Director of Banking Supervision Department, Mrs. Agnes Tokunbo Martins who was recognized as an Honorary Senior Member.  Other members of staff who were equally honoured at the ceremony, either as elected fellows or as Senior Members, were Muni. Afemikhe, Odunola Aikomo, Olubunmi Ayodele, Tajudeen Ogunwolu, Margaret Ogundana, Angela Sere-Ejembi, and Adebanjo Owoaje. 

Among other awardees were Mr. Nnamdi Okonkwo, Mr. Emeka Emuwa, and Mr. Ifie Sekibo who are the Managing Directors of Fidelity Bank Plc, Union Bank of Nigeria Plc, and Heritage Bank Limited, respectively.


Present at the ceremony were Mr. Dick Kramer, Chairman, African  Capital Alliance; Lagos State Commissioner for Budget and Planning, Mr. Ben Akabueze, representing the Lagos State Governor; and the Vice Chancellor of the University of Uyo, Prof. (Mrs.) Comfort M. Ekpo. 

Also present were several CEOs and senior management of deposit money banks, many Directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria, several executives of the Bank, and other leaders in the industry.


The Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria was incorporated as a Company Limited by Guarantee in 1976.  It attained a Chartered status through Act No. 12 of 1990, which was re-enacted as Act No. 5 of 2007. 


Its statutory responsibilities include determining the standards of knowledge and skills to be attained by persons seeking to become members of the banking profession and to conduct professional examinations leading to the award of certificates as may be prescribed by the Institute. 

View more photos

Facts : 1/1/1900
West African Currency Board:The West African Currency Board was established in 1912 to retain the services of Bank of British West Africa. It set up four centres in Lagos, Accra, Freetown and Barthurst (now Banjul).
See All: Facts | Events