

Central Bank of Nigeria

Central Business District P.M.B. 0187 Garki, Abuja

November 22, 2006

E-mail address: ted@cenbank.org

TED/FEM/GEN/FPC/01/06

TO: ALL AUTHORISED DEALERS

YEAR 2007 HAJJ PILGRIMAGE RE: PURCHASE OF PILGRIMS' TRAVELLING ALLOWANCE (PTA) IN SAUDI RIYAL TRAVELLERS' CHEQUES

The following details are notified for the information of all Authorised Dealers

in respect of the 2007 Hajj Operations.

- 1. The Federal Government has fixed the number of Muslims including officials, who are allowed to perform the Hajj pilgrimage in 2007 at 65,000 (Sixty five thousand).
- Each pilgrim is entitled to a minimum of Five hundred United States Dollars (US\$500.00) and a maximum of One thousand United States Dollars (US\$1,000.00) at an exchange rate of SR3.75 per US\$1 as PTA. The president has also approved a concessionary exchange rate of ₩120.00 to US\$1 for PTA.
- 3. The CBN will issue Saudi Travellers' Cheques (TCs) to the participating banks two weeks before the commencement of the Hajj Operations and thereafter debit the accounts of the banks with the value of the TCs issued immediately after the first airlift of pilgrims to Saudi Arabia.
- 4. Each of the designated banks must submit a report on the 2007 Hajj transactions to the Director, Trade and Exchange Department, Central Bank of Nigeria, Abuja, not later than one month after the conclusion of the Hajj Operations.

Accordingly, the schedule below has been approved for the conduct of year 2006/07 Hajj pilgrimage.

	ALLOCATION OF SEATS			
S/N	STATE	ALLOCATION	DESIGNATED BANKS	
1	Abia	25	Union Bank of Nigeria PLC	
2	Abuja	2,150	Unity Bank PLC	
3	Adamawa	2,207	Unity Bank PLC	
4	Akwa Ibom	36	United Bank for Africa PLC	
5	Anambra	31	First Bank of Nigeria PLC	
6	Bauchi	3,064	Unity Bank PLC	
7	Bayelsa	139	United Bank for Africa PLC	
8	Benue	303	Unity Bank PLC	
9	Borno	2,660	Union Bank of Nigeria PLC	
10	C/River	12	First Bank of Nigeria PLC	
11	Delta	44	First Inland Bank PLC	
12	Ebonyi	81	Union Bank of Nigeria PLC	
13	Edo	270	United Bank for Africa PLC	
14	Ekiti	105	Union Bank of Nigeria PLC	
15	Enugu	19	United Bank for Africa PLC	
16	Gombe	2,139	Unity Bank PLC	
17	Imo	23	United Bank for Africa PLC	
18	Jigawa	2,119	Zenith Bank Plc	
19	Kaduna	6,137	Unity Bank PLC	
20	Kano	7,000	Unity Bank PLC	
21	Katsina	4,768	i) Platinum Habib Bank Plc	
			ii) United Bank for Africa Plc	
22	Kebbi	4,100	Unity Bank PLC	
23	Kogi	648	Unity Bank PLC	
24	Kwara	1,372	Unity Bank PLC	
25	Lagos	3,500	Union Bank of Nigeria	
26	Nasarawa	1,279	i) Unity Bank Plc	
			ii) First Inland Bank Plc	
27	Niger	4,236	Unity Bank PLC	
28	Ogun	1,315	First City Monument Bank Plc	
29	Ondo	188	Unity Bank PLC	
30	Osun	711	United Bank for Africa PLC	
31	Оуо	1,500	i) Union Bank of Nigeria Plc	

PRESIDENTIAL COMMITTEE ON HAJJ 2006/07 ALLOCATION OF SEATS

			ii) Wema Bank Plc
32	Plateau	436	Unity Bank PLC
33	Rivers	3	Guaranty Trust Bank Plc
34	Taraba	1,197	i)Zenith Bank Plc
			ii) Unity Bank Plc
35	Sokoto	5,064	Oceanic Bank Plc
36	Yobe	1,608	Unity Bank PLC
37	Zamfara	4,193	Unity Bank PLC
38	Armed Forces	300	Unity Bank PLC
	TOTAL	64,983	

(OAKanji (Mis)

O. O. AKANJI (MRS.) DIRECTOR TRADE & EXCHANGE DEPARTMENT