Quick Links

Social Media

CBN and The Community

University Aid | Sports | Govt & Professionals | Other Aids

Sports Development

In line with its corporate social responsibility (CSR) policy, the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has over the years been involved in the promotion and development of sporting activities in Nigeria. The Bank’s CSR in the area of sports focuses on the following sporting events: Tennis for Junior and Senior categories, Golf Tournament and the All Financial Institutions Football Competition. 

  1. Lawn Tennis
    The 36th edition of the Senior Open Tennis Championship was held from May 8 - 17, 2014 at the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos with winners emerging in various categories. In the menís singles, Babalola Abdulmumin defeated Henry Atseye to lift the trophy while the duo of Idoko Candy and Shehu Lawal defeated Owolabi Taiwo and Babalola Abdulmumin to emerge the menís doubles winners.

    In the ladies category, Agbugbon Christy defeated Elizabeth Pam to become the women champion while the pair of Samuel Blessing and Agbugbon Christy defeated Akingbade Ronke and Kienka Lolia to emerge womenís doubles winners.

    In the wheel tennis menís finals for the physically challenged players, Adewale Alex defeated Uwazie Jude while Basanya Remi defeated Dawodu Tosin in the women finals.

    Since its inception in 1979, the championship has produced talented players that represented Nigeria at international tournaments. Prominent among such players are Sadiq Abdullahi, David Imonite, Remi Osho, Sunday Maku, Veronica Oyibokia, Rolake Olagbegi, Clara Usofa, Margaret Olagundoye, and many others. The Championship has in fact become a selection ground for the country in preparation for major competitions such as Davis Cup, All Africa Games, etc.

    In its determination to ensure that young stars are discovered and developed early, the CBN introduced, in 2007, ďThe CBN Junior Tennis TournamentĒ. The tournament is designed to serve as a feeder to this senior championship and it is open to boys and girls between the ages of 10 and 18. The 8th edition of the junior championship was held from February 24, to March 1, 2014 at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Tafawa Balewa Square, Race Course, Lagos.

  2. CBN Governor's Golf Cup
    In continuation of its commitment to the development of sports, the Bank in 2007 sponsored the maiden edition of the CBN Governorís Golf Cup Tournament at the IBB International Golf & Country Club, Maitama, Abuja from November 2 to 4, 2007. The objective is to create an atmosphere of relaxation for distinguished personalities to cross-pollinate ideas necessary for friendship and business opportunities. It is also part of the Bankís corporate social responsibility obligations towards the development of the game of golf in Nigeria.

    The 7th edition of the CBN Governorís Golf Cup Tournament was held at the IBB Golf and Country Club, Maitama, Abuja, from November 22 to 24, 2013.

  3. All Financial Institutions Football Competition
  4. The final of 2013 edition was played at the Lokoja Township Stadium, Lokoja, Kogi State on November 30, 2013 with the Central Bank of Nigeria FC emerging winners of the competition. The CBN team defeated Union Bank FC 2 Ė 0 to lift the trophy. The CBN in collaboration with Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), organizes the competition to foster closer relationship among employees of Deposit Money Banks (DMBs) and other financial institutions.

    The competition has been on since 1979, when the maiden edition was held to mark the 20th anniversary of CBN. It is worthy to note that football stars like Stephen Keshi, Henry Nwosu, Nwankwo Kanu, among others, had featured in the competition. A high point of the 2013 edition was the presence of ex-soccer international, Mr. Nwankwo Kanu (MON) who was the Special Guest of Honour. His presence was meant to motivate the players and inspire them to pursue their soccer aspirations to greater professional heights.


Facts : 2/1/1933
Indigenous Banking in Nigeria:The story of indegenous banking in Nigeria began with the establishment of the National Bank of Nigeria Limited in February 1933. This was followed by the Agbonmagbe Bank Limited in 1945, now Wema Bank. Afterwards, the African Development Bank Limited, now known as African Continental Bank Plc., was constited in 1948.
See All: Facts | Events

Related Links
MPC Forum
Capacity Building for Nigerian Universities
CBN and the Community
Aid Programmes
Assistance to Institutions